Blanket of Doom

Welcome to Doom

Fluttershy

2 Comments


Everyone, meet Fluttershy.

I created her using a modification of the Hermione the Unicorn pattern (free on Raverly)

I’m actually really proud of this one, so bear with me while I post some progress photos, it’ll build up the suspense to the big reveal.

20130114-190902.jpgThis is the head, I actually pulled it out after the first attempt and did it again. I’m not sure why this gave me so much trouble.  My thought is because of the lack of horn. In going through the comments on the pattern I found one other person who had issues with the head, so maybe I’m not alone. In the end I double crocheted in the rows where the horn would have been attached to make he head longer, and then hid the stitching size difference under the hair later.

20130114-190926.jpgGetting some finishing touches with the legs. One of the way cool things about this pattern is the appendages are crocheted in as the pattern is work, so there wasn’t that moment of “wow I’ve finished everything and now I have to sew it all together.” I approve of that.

20130114-190945.jpgThe eye detail took a lot of time to get the proper placement. The eyes were made of felt, I’m still having some issues getting the pieces to look even on each side.

20130114-190959.jpgHere she is before the hair. Still a cute little badly right? The wings were created using a modification of the wings from a Golden Snitch pattern, I just changed the last row to make the feather divisions more prominent.

And, drum roll please……

20130114-191034.jpg

20130114-191049.jpgFront and back view.

The hair was actually the hardest part, getting it to look not bald but not too thick at the same time, who knew right?

I wish I could keep her, but she’ll only be around until March when she’s going to be donated to a raffle to raise money for March of Dimes. I hope her new family likes her as much as I do.

Also, I know a lot of my readers are awesome crafty people, so I’m asking you all to consider donating to the March of Dimes Raffle. It’s a really good cause and if you have a business it’s a great way to advertise. Check out our facebook event for more information: https://www.facebook.com/events/150567895096795/

Author: Lizzybeth

I have too much time on my hands.

2 thoughts on “Fluttershy

  1. Pingback: Pinke Pie « Blanket of Doom

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers