Blanket of Doom

Welcome to Doom

Epic Blanket of…Win? Part 5

Leave a comment


Since I wasn’t able to finish a whole block by Monday, I will do two blanket updates this week. I don’t like to be so boring and repetitive, but I didn’t like Monday’s post.

Here is the first completed block of this type. All of the color changes made this block much more time consuming than any of the others in this project.

Like all the other blocks in this project, this pattern came from 200 Knitted Blocks, which is a pretty awesome book.

This block, like those shown in Part 3 of the blanket saga, is all stocking knit stitch. As I mentioned before, I’m not the biggest fan of the stocking knit stitch. I probably shouldn’t have saved all these blocks for last. Live and learn I guess.

The pattern was an interesting one to work with. All the color changes did keep it from becoming too tedious, and it does make the block look interesting. However, as you can see from the picture, the stitching at each color change becomes inconsistent. At first I thought it was something I was doing, but when I looked closer at the picture in the book I could see that the sample square has the same issue. If anyone has learned a way to get around this, please post it in the comments section.

The other thing that is bothering me about this block is the top. In the binding off process the blue is still visible under the red. While intuitively I knew this would happen, it’s still making my obsessive compulsive side mad.

All in all, I don’t think I will be using this particular block again. It is going to be used for the corner of my blanket, so I only need four for this project. Had I needed any more I probably would have scraped the idea and put something else in its place.

Lastly, I’d like to comment on the photograph. In browsing blogs today I came across a post by cherylmarieknits commenting on photography techniques. I was inspired to try it out for mine. I must admit, having a solid color behind the work makes it look a little better than using my bed as a backdrop.

Author: Lizzybeth

I have too much time on my hands.

Leave a Reply

