Blanket of Doom

Welcome to Doom

Fall Fail Hat

2 Comments


A few weeks ago, my boyfriend excitedly showed me this pattern, and asked if I could make it for him. Being the good girlfriend I am, I happily decided to make it for him.

The crown part of this pattern is knitted in rounds, making this my first project knitted in rounds. The pattern itself was easy enough to follow, it’s a 2×2 rib stitch that builds upon itself as stitches are added and decreased to form the shape.

As you have probably assumed from the title, this is where the good things I have to say about this pattern ends.

I chose to use a thinner yarn than called for by this pattern, since the pattern was for something to be used while snowboarding. However, the gauge stitch matched fine with the notated one.

All was going well until I finished off the hat. Being a rib stitch, I knew it would stretch when it was put on, so I was not fazed by how small it looked after I finished weaving in the ends. I handed it to my boyfriend, and we were shocked to find out it didn’t fit! Thinking his head was just huge, I tried it on. It didn’t fit me either!

The crown of the hat was snug, which I could forgive, but the ear flap parts didn’t come anywhere close to my ears. Nothing like the model posted. The beginning of the pattern states “[b]ecause of the ribbing’s serious stretch, this hat will fit just about any adult.” While I know one size fits most doesn’t work for everyone, I really don’t see how this final result would fit any adult I know. Maybe people have smaller heads in Massachusetts.

Author: Lizzybeth

I have too much time on my hands.

2 thoughts on “Fall Fail Hat

  1. Pingback: Fall Hat « Blanket of Doom

  2. Pingback: Tabby Tam « Blanket of Doom

Leave a Reply

