Blanket of Doom

Welcome to Doom

Knitted Gas Mask Part 1

Leave a comment


Last month, I made the mistake of showing my boyfriend this blog. While looking through my postings, he found a post I had made commenting on a knitted gas mask. Being the man he is, he ignored my commentary on the pattern and instead asked if I could make him one.

After thinking for a long while about why I’m dating someone so crazy, I finally gave in and said I’d do it.

Last week I finished up the hat for the base of this mask, and this week I’m working on making the front of the mask.

Creating the front of the mask was easy enough. I worked it in a stocking knit stitch, and bound off stitches to create the eye holes.

Creating the eye holes was really interesting, as I had to hold the piece up to my face and use that to try and guesstimate how wide and long to make each eye hole. I’m glad I have my own room, otherwise people would think I’m crazy, since I would make one row, carry the project to the mirror, hold it up to my face, and sit there thinking about how shape the next row.

Once the eye holes were finished, I continued in the stocking knit stitch until the piece reached past my chin and could touch my neck. Again, I’m sure I looked silly doing this because every few rows I’d hold the piece up to my face and measure how long it was getting. I think it may have come out too long, but we shall see.

Next step, making the nose cone.

Author: Lizzybeth

I have too much time on my hands.

Leave a Reply

