Blanket of Doom

Welcome to Doom

Skull Illusion Scarf

4 Comments


Since Halloween is fast approaching us, I decided to start off the month of October by working on this seemingly innocent scarf that I found on Ravelry.

While browsing through patterns on Ravelry and beefing up my queue, I noticed a lot of patterns for these huge illusion panels with some really cool characters. I was intrigued, but I was weary that mine would actually come out looking like they are supposed to. So when I came across a listing for an illusion scarf, I decided to give it a try. It seemed like it would be a good way to sample the idea, since it was a repeating pattern, and if I did mess up I’d have less to pull out.

At first, I was concerned that the illusion wouldn’t show up, but after completing the first 30 rows or so, the illusion started to appear.

Working the scarf has been pretty easy so far. The pattern does involve counting to make the texture contrast that forms the illusion, which is somewhat annoying as I like to avoid counting whenever possible. I’ve also forgotten how tedious making scarves is. I’ve spent a few hours working on this so far, and each time I put it down I keep thinking I should be further. I may not be able to finish this by Halloween…

Author: Lizzybeth

I have too much time on my hands.

4 thoughts on “Skull Illusion Scarf

  1. Very cool. Actually pretty freakin awesome.

  2. Pingback: Why Must Scarves Take So Much Time? « Blanket of Doom

  3. Pingback: This Scarf Will be the Death of Me « Blanket of Doom

Leave a Reply

