Blanket of Doom

Welcome to Doom

A Touch of Whimsy Socks

Leave a comment


Today’s pattern is for these cute socks. While I think they are absolutely adorable, I think this may be one of the projects that I skip, at least for the time being. I’m having a hard enough time keeping up, and just look at all the detail on those socks!

I don’t have that much experience with making socks, but I am currently working on a pair using a different pattern. My current pattern is much less detailed than the ones featured here (in addition to not having as many details, they don’t even have heals), yet it is taking me forever to make them. I’m not sure if its due to working with the thin yarn, or if I’m just horribly slow as of late. Whatever the reason, I’m not jumping at the opportunity to start work on another pair.

I know I often complain about the time it takes to make certain projects, but this time I feel the rant is completely just.

I understand that blankets take forever, after all they are really large. I also understand why scarves and hats with lots of detail take forever, because they have lots of detail. Socks, on the other hand, don’t appear to be worth the time it takes me to make them. Yes they are cute, and yes they are fun to knit. But why should I spend weeks on something that I am going to stuff inside my shoes? Something that no one will see? Doesn’t seem worth it to me.

 

Author: Lizzybeth

I have too much time on my hands.

Leave a Reply

