Blanket of Doom

Welcome to Doom

How I gave my husband a can of corn for our anniversiary

Leave a comment


Yup, I got my hubby a can of corn for our anniversary. Well…sort of.

The idea came to me a few days ago while I was trying desperately to get him to fess up about what he got me. While I didn’t find out exactly what it was, I did realize that it was going to be a lot more expensive than my little handmade gift. Worried, I asked him if he would mind that there may be a bit of a price difference, and if he would mind if his gift was terribly corny. To which he replied “I’d love a can of corn for our anniversary!”

And there we had it, I realized that I had to wrap his gift to look like he got a can of corn.

The first step was to take a trip to the grocery store, where I had to find the perfect can of corn for my wrapping. It actually turned out to be really easy, since they had some cans with awesome pop tops, meaning he wouldn’t need to pull out a can opener to open the gift.

I bought several cans and told him later they were on sale, so he wouldn’t suspect.

After getting hubby safely out of the house, I set to work.

Step one: Carefully remove the label, trying to keep it in one piece. Luckily, most labels are only glued in one place.

Step 2: Flip the can over and set to work with your can opener to remove the bottom. When purchasing a can, be sure to look at the bottoms, some cans can’t be opened from the bottom.

Step 3: Empty the contents into whatever meal you are making, or a plastic container for later. Very carefully, wash and dry the can and lid.

 

Step 4: Place your gift inside

 

Step 5: Glue the bottom of the can back in place. I used hot glue, but it turned out kinda messy. It is the bottom, so it wasn’t such a big deal, but if I do this again I’ll probably use crazy glue or something.

 

Step 6: Glue the label back on the can.

 

Step 7: Tie a bow on the can (or something to make it distinct from real food), and hide it in the pantry waiting for it to be discovered.

Now I lie in wait. My hubby doesn’t cook very often, so I may have to ask him to check the levels or something in order to discover my gift. I can’t wait to see the look on his face when he sees it and thinks that I really did give him a can of corn for our anniversary.

 

 

Author: Lizzybeth

I have too much time on my hands.

Leave a Reply

